Bridging the cultural divide

Bridging the kulturelle Kluft mit Digital Media

Blogger: Ingrid de Jong
Blogger: Ingrid Joffe

Ratet mal, wie weit Vancouver aus Amsterdam ist. Geographisch- und kulturell-Sprechen, sie sind zwei sehr verschiedene Welten. Aber in Bezug auf digitale Medien, wir sind praktisch Nachbarn.

Vancouver ist die Heimatbasis von Mass Media Marketing - wir sprechen über sich 7,600 Kilometer westlich von Amsterdam. Das ist ungefähr 4,700 Meilen für unsere amerikanischen Freunde. Scheint ziemlich weit, aber wenn Sie denken, der es in Bezug auf Social Media, es ist nur ein Gespräch weg.

Als mein Partner Marc Joffe und ich ging nach Amsterdam vor kurzem, gab es deutliche Unterschiede sowie viele interessante Ähnlichkeiten zwischen diesen beiden Städten. Aber eine Ähnlichkeit uns auffiel, war, wie Social Media nahtlos reist quer durch die Kulturen und Ozeane.

Lassen Sie uns zunächst auf einige wichtige Unterschiede zwischen den beiden Städten suchen: Vancouver wurde gegründet 1886 und ehrlich gesagt einige seiner alten Wachstum Bäume sind älter als die Stadt. Es hat eine Bevölkerung von 578,000 (in 2006) über 114 qkm.

Mittlerweile, Amsterdam wurde in der Gründung 12th Jahrhundert. Viele Gebäude aus dem Jahr 1400 stehen noch, oder lehnt jetzt. Und seiner Bevölkerung von mehr als 1.3 Millionen Menschen das Leben in einem 166 km ² Fläche.

Während Amsterdam befindet sich in der Geschichte gebadet und verfügt über gewaltige Architektur, Kunst und Hunderte von Kanälen, es hat viel gemeinsam mit Vancouver.

Beide sitzen auf einem Westküste, oder wie wir sie liebevoll nennen in Vancouver, das "nasse Küste." Beide sind Multi-Kulti-. Du bist die Qual der Wahl, um fast jede Art von Lebensmittel, die Sie sehnen finden, aus der chinesischen, Japanisch, Indianer, Äthiopier, Karibik, Italian, Französisch, PanAsian. Sie sind fast auf dem gleichen Breitengrad, teilen milden Wintern, warmen Sommern und freundliche Gastgeber laid-back Charme.

Amsterdamer Gracht

Als Marc und ich ging nach Amsterdam zu Weihnachten, wir uns selbst eingetaucht in die niederländische Kultur und erforscht die Unterschiede in der Vermarktung über den großen Teich. Wir haben sofort gemerkt, wie fortschrittliche Technologie in Europa ist, aus den 3D-Fernseher, um ihre produktiven Einsatz von Mobile Marketing und Social Media.

Wir waren angenehm überrascht, diese gemeinsame Suche nach "Verbindung." In unserem Hotel in der Universitätsstadt Utrecht, erhielten wir eine improvisierte Twitter Einladung von einem digitalen Media-Spezialist aus Belgien, die geschäftlich in der Stadt war. Schön, Sie kennen zu lernen @ Rienvdb!

Und wenn Marc und ich streckte die Hand aus, um unsere LinkedIn Kontakte, entdeckten wir eine Fülle an Support und bietet die Vernetzung mit unseren niederländischen Kontakte.

Amsterdam ist die Stadt in dem ich geboren wurde und noch immer fängt mein Herz. Während ich aufwuchs, spricht Niederländisch, Ich habe auch meine neue Heimat Vancouver. Heute habe ich neue Wertschätzung für die Qualitäten der beiden Städte gewonnen.

Wir wissen, dass wir die kulturelle Kluft und eine Verbindung mit Personen in der Nähe zu Hause und in der ganzen Welt durch die Magie der sozialen Medien und die digitale Vernetzung überbrücken,en.

Attract Traffic. Get More Business Today

Digital Marketing INSIDER video blog

Need the advantage of an online marketing consultant? My name is Marc Joffe and I have broad international experience in display, search, and social media. As a commercially minded search marketer that’s what I love to do. I work from Amsterdam, The Netherlands and make a great Dutch “toastie.” @massmediamarket. I vlog about display, seo and marketing. Subscribe to my new youTube channel

Bridging the Cultural Divide with Digital Media

Blogger: Ingrid de Jong

Blogger: Ingrid Joffe

Guess how far Vancouver is from Amsterdam. Geographically- and culturally-speaking, they’re two very different worlds. But in digital media terms, we’re practically neighbours.

Vancouver is the home base of Mass Media Marketing — we’re located about 7,600 kilometers west of Amsterdam. That’s about 4,700 miles for our American friends. Seems quite far, but when you think of it in social media terms, it’s just a conversation away.

When my partner Marc Joffe and I went to Amsterdam recently, there were obvious differences as well as many interesting similarities between these two cities. But one similarity we noticed was how social media travels seamlessly across cultures and oceans.

First let’s look at some key differences between the two cities: Vancouver was established in 1886 and frankly some of its old growth trees are older than the city. It has a population of 578,000 (in 2006) across 114 sq km.

Meanwhile, Amsterdam was founded in the 12th century. Many buildings from the 1400s are still standing, or leaning now. And its population of more than 1.3 million lives in a 166 sq km area.

While Amsterdam is bathed in history and boasts tremendous architecture, art and hundreds of canals, it has a lot in common with Vancouver.

Both sit on a west coast, or as we affectionately call it in Vancouver, the “wet coast.” Both are multi-cultural. You’re spoiled for choice to find almost any kind of food you crave, from Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Ethiopian, Caribbean, Italian, French, PanAsian. They are almost on the same latitude, share mild winters, warm summers and host friendly laid-back charm.

Amsterdam canal

When Marc and I went to Amsterdam for Christmas, we immersed ourselves in Dutch culture and explored the differences in marketing across the pond. We immediately noticed how advanced Europe’s technology is, from the 3D TVs to their prolific use of mobile marketing and social media.

We were pleasantly surprised to find this common “connection.” At our hotel in the university city of Utrecht, we received an impromptu Twitter invite from a digital media specialist from Belgium who was in town on business. Great to meet you @rienvdb!

And when Marc and I reached out to our LinkedIn contacts, we discovered a wealth of support and offers to network with our Dutch contacts.

Amsterdam is the city I was born in and still captures my heart. While I grew up speaking Dutch, I also made Vancouver my new home. Today I’ve gained new appreciation for the qualities of both cities.

We know that we can bridge the cultural divide and connect with people close to home and across the world through the magic of social media and digital networking.

Attract Traffic. Get More Business Today

Digital Marketing INSIDER video blog

Need the advantage of an online marketing consultant? My name is Marc Joffe and I have broad international experience in display, search, and social media. As a commercially minded search marketer that’s what I love to do. I work from Amsterdam, The Netherlands and make a great Dutch “toastie.” @massmediamarket. I vlog about display, seo and marketing. Subscribe to my new youTube channel

Comments are closed.